What Happens When I Hit The Cape Town Music Scene?

From December 2012 to February 2013, I’ll be recording and producing material in a rented studio space in Cape Town with the intention of creating an electro-swing-polka-tango album called Modern Folk under the Pravda23 alias. Come and hang out.

I gotta go home in a few months, back to Cape Town. Teacher time’s up. I wanna make music. Lotta feelings come with this. There’s my old friends, I’m Stoked That The Scene Is Growing and Can’t Wait To Rock This Shit, but I also checked Am I Good Enough and This Is All Cool But It’s Nonsense lurking around at the back.

It’s mostly fear of failure, of embarrassment. I’ve done all these different jobs, but always writing lyrics on lunch-breaks and watching audio tuts in the cracks. This is my vulnerable life.

Did the CPT music industry for two years with Overtone, basically full-time volunteering for most of it. I learned I wanted to be a musician instead. So I sorta began changing tracks, and now, five years later, I’m glad I did. But now I gotta find a place among all these dudes who have been rocking it for the last 10 years, and I feel like I’m playing catch-up. I know I got exactly what it takes to make something of this, but damn it’s a scary idea stepping in front of these fuckin hipster gatekeepers and tastemakers and saying “here I am”. I wanna transcend it all, blast off instantly, but apparently the only way up and out is through the venues to the festivals and beyond, with a very specific brand of Cape Town niche cool to light the path.

Pay me in time. I’m not greedy, I don’t care who gets the limelight. I just want to make a living from being a musician, producer and performer. That’s all I’ve wanted and worked for for years now. I research these dudes. I’m fanatically interested in Die Antwoord, Goldfish, Markus Wormstorm, Sibot, Freshlyground, Niskerone, the whole Red Bull scene, Richard the Third, Das Kapital, Narch, the Van Vok King Tasties brat pack, Ma’or and Balkanology and Rocking the Daisies, LMG, African Dope, Overtone, Rolling Stone SA – in a word, the Scene!

But I never got how to connect with these people. I don’t wanna seem false, like, “Hey, I love that thing you do, by the way, can you do this for me?” Is there such thing as sincere success, or all just fake it till you make it?

So I gotta learn how to pretend that it’s just another Friday evening for me, instead of, you know, they “keys to the golden kingdom” kinda thing. Which is tough. You chase it, you invest your ass in it, but somehow you have to be lighthearted about it.

In seven months, all this talk is gonna be put into action and transmute into an album called Modern Folk by Pravda23. It’s time to take a risk and give myself the time that I’ve been promising myself. Wish me luck. I’m going in.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

